Can someone PLEASE allow me to send PM's?

Have questions? We've got answers. Test your signatures here, but please keep all sig tests in the sig test topic.

Moderators: Best First, spiderfrommars, IronHide

Post Reply
User avatar
Predabot
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 3119
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
:: Scraplet
Location: Northern sweden

Can someone PLEASE allow me to send PM's?

Post by Predabot » Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:26 pm

Yes... it's quite a problem, I've had it for atleast 2 months now, and there's no sign of it stopping. :eyebrow:

At first I thought it was some kind of error with the actual site, but everyone else seems very able to send PM's to others, and me. Why is it that I can receive yet not send PM's?

If the moderators have "put a cap" on my PM's intentionally then please say so, otherwise I would really like it if we could delve deeper into this problem, and hopefully solve it.

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:40 pm

There's nothing showing that should prevent you from sending PMs.

As a precaution, I've disabled then re-enabled your sending of PMs, if that fixes it, then it was probably just a glitch somewhere in the system.

User avatar
Predabot
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 3119
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
:: Scraplet
Location: Northern sweden

Post by Predabot » Tue Jul 04, 2006 1:57 pm

Rightie then, I've sent you a test-pm, now to find out if it reached you. For some ussual reason however, it got sent to my inbox, not sure if you've gotten it then...

User avatar
Brendocon
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 5299
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Brendocon » Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:32 pm

See? Not even the software likes you.
Grrr. Argh.

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:49 pm

Haven't received anything, but if you have, then it looks like something's crossing the To: and From: fields. Are they saying they're from you or from the person your sending them to?

User avatar
Predabot
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 3119
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
:: Scraplet
Location: Northern sweden

Post by Predabot » Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:17 pm

It says it's from me, but when I sent it, the recipient-field clearly said Rebis.

Brendocon wrote:See? Not even the software likes you.

You sure it's not those Gremlin basts I've heard you were training? :(

User avatar
Predabot
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 3119
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
:: Scraplet
Location: Northern sweden

Post by Predabot » Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:30 am

ARRRGH!!! I believe I have just gained a VERY important clue as to the reasons for the inability to PM... I just tried PM'ing oB in Internet Explorer... and it worked.

It would seem as if this is a Netscape-centric problem.. what on earth could the solution be then? And why does it even exist? Seeing as Netscape is based on, and uses the original Firefox engine, in a way similar to the current Firefox.

User avatar
Brendocon
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 5299
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Brendocon » Mon Jul 17, 2006 3:56 pm

See? Netscape doesn't like you. Further proof that IE is crap - it has no taste.

User avatar
Kaylee
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 4071
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2000 12:00 am
:: More venomous than I appear
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK.
Contact:

Post by Kaylee » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:09 pm

As a point of fact Netscape is based on the rendering engine Gecko, which was developed at Netscape and later became public property and part of the Mozilla Foundation when Netscape was nuked by Microsoft.

Rendering engines shouldn't really have much to do with this problem from the sounds of it imo.

It's obviously not a fault with the site, nor with your connection, it's a fault with your browser settings. Presumably you've made some change in the last few months to these settings and since then you've been unable to use the PM capacity.

However you're able to start topics, which is basically the same as sending a PM.

I've examined the code for the PM page and there's nothing there which should cause a netscape error and not also cause problems when posting a normal topic (like this one). Furthermore I've searched the various newsgroups and not found any errors relating to phpBB and Netscape similar to this.

My recommendation would be to remove and reinstall Netscape to the latest version, or failing that to install Firefox; which is generally considered to be a superior browser.

It may also be worth toying with your security/cookie settings, but I'd be surprised if that may be causing the error. Also try deleting your Internet cache and history. The usual stuff but sometimes it clears some small piece of garbage which was causing the problem.

User avatar
Brendocon
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 5299
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Brendocon » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:29 pm

Karl Lynch wrote:some small piece of garbage which was causing the problem.


Ah... user error, then...
Grrr. Argh.

User avatar
Kaylee
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 4071
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2000 12:00 am
:: More venomous than I appear
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK.
Contact:

Post by Kaylee » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:32 pm

Brendocon wrote:
Karl Lynch wrote:some small piece of garbage which was causing the problem.


Ah... user error, then...


{throws a penny into your hat}

buy yourself a drink, good sir ;)

Guest

Post by Guest » Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:55 pm

Netscape 8 is probably the reason. I tried 8 for a short while - didn't get on with it, in either IE* or Firefox engine mode.

IMO, Netscape 7.2 is the most stable of the modern Netscapes, both in its corrected rendering (this imo is something that wasn't up to snuff in 7.1) and its connectivity.

* Why would anyone want an IE browser engine in another browser application, anyway? Surely it'd be better not to have the third-party application and just use IE itself if that was all you were going to do with it?

User avatar
Predabot
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 3119
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
:: Scraplet
Location: Northern sweden

Post by Predabot » Fri Jul 21, 2006 3:08 pm

Thanks for the tips guys. Oddly enough I think I may have gotten the PM-problem AFTER using the clear-cache and cookies and history buttons.

I will consider changing to 7.2 again Rebis. And I like Netscape the way it is, the look and feel is quite fresh to me. :) I.E is a useless antiquation, and the new beta thingie that's been released with tabs, is just a big mess.

The reason why I don't go firefox is because I'm a bit old-fashion I suppose, and since the Netscape started useing the same engine, and many of the features, added with its own, then what's the point? :o

User avatar
Impactor returns 2.0
Big Honking Planet Eater
Posts: 6885
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 11:00 pm
:: Starlord
Location: Your Mums

Post by Impactor returns 2.0 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 3:35 pm

Firefox works and is the best?

Just install Firefox and be done with it.
Image

Post Reply